Twinkle’s Eye

Who was I before?
Villain, liar, thief?
Murderer?
Betrayer of innocence?

Defiler of love?
I must needs know
For it hangs about me like a shroud
Muffling the truth

Like a gagged scream
An unintelligible answer
Running over
Like tears into the mud

Everywhere I step
The answers lose their color
As the question ever swells
What in heaven was I?

That doom should follow
With such malignant devotion
WHAT!
That I should live and die at once

With every treaded dream
Each loved one failed
And the final smile of this twinkle’s eye
May it finally be satisfied

~ by rimofheaven on February 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
