I Can’t Look

her hope

As hope stands with our children

like a beacon in a political storm

lifting the eyes of the dejected

I can’t look

while the old walls are raised

and knowing eyes turn away

from fear’s invisible empire

I can’t look

where vanity dares to tread

upon the dreams of youth

and mock the triumph of mankind

I can’t look

because the greatest truths

remain ineffable to the small

inaudible to the strong

unprofitable to the rich

who would stand in the way

and deliver hope up to the mob

in exchange for tepid waters

I can’t look – anymore

The One Thing

~ by rimofheaven on March 4, 2008.

2 Responses to “I Can’t Look”

  1. […] aqkcbzfwt wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt  As hope stands with our children  like a beacon in a political storm lifting the eyes of the dejected I can’t look […]

    Like

  2. You have been “tagged.” I was tagged today and decided to participate. The advantage of this tagging is to send more people to your site. It’s okay if you choose not to participate. I have seen your site and I love your writings, I thought it would be nice if people would see it too. Please click my link to see the rules of “tagging.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
