America!

rockwell.jpg

Today, for the first time in years I went to the caucuses, and I brought my family with me. My wife Tanya, my nine year old daughter Della, and my eight year old daughter Halen. They were surprised, yet very excited. Getting ready and leaving our home together to head to City Hall filled me with a sense of pride. Our girls had questions about the purpose and the process: What’s a caucus? How do you vote? As we stood together as a family among fellow Americans I couldn’t help smiling. I’m African-American, my wife is white, Della is white, and Halen is African-American. But, as we stood their holding each-other in the midst of the citizens of Calais, ME., we felt a sense of camaraderie, and belonging as I realized that I was proud to be there not only with my family, but with Americans: my brothers and sisters. Some of us gave speeches and shared our feelings and opinions, each person receiving an opportunity to exercise his/her freedom of speech without interruption, capped with applause. In that moment, we were not black, white, Latino, Asian, Native-American, male or female. We were simply Americans. It was an amazing moment in which we all grew closer, and forward simultaneously. “America, America, God shed his grace on thee. And crown thy good with brotherhood, from sea to shining sea.”

~ by rimofheaven on February 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
